BARBARA FRADKIN           Mystery Writer

2012 Grant Allen Award Winners

The Ladies' Killing Circle is a dynamic group of women writers, all originally from the Ottawa area, who first got together in 1992 as a critiquing group and later as the editorial board of a series of popular and critically acclaimed short story anthologies. Barbara has had stories published in all seven of their anthologies


In 2005 she was privileged to became a member of the group, consolidating friendships that will last a lifetime. One of the founding members of the group was Audrey Jessup, who died in 2003 but whose presence will be with the group forever. In 2008 the group released its last anthology Going Out With a Bang, with a spectrum of stories from comic to noir. However, in July 2011, they released in July 2011 an ebook entitled Little Treasures containing seven rare, out-of-print stories from the first anthology. Check it out on Kindle, Kobo and other ebook sites!


Forty-eight women have been published in the LKC anthologies, and the LKC has been a launching pad for the successful writing careers of many who have gone on to publish short stories in other venues as well as novels. In 2012, the Wolfe Island Scene of the Crime Festival, the Ladies' Killing Circle was honoured with the Grant Allen Award for their outstanding and pioneering contribution to Canadian crime writing.


The members of the Ladies Killing Circle all went on to have successful writing careers of their own , including Joan Boswell, who sadly died in 2018 and is very much missed.


The members of LKC

Joan Boswell

Vicki Cameron

Barbara Fradkin

Mary Jane Maffini

Sue Pike

Linda Wiken


The Ladies' Killing Circle Anthologies

The Ladies Killing Circle (1995)

Cottage Country Killers (1997)

Menopause is Murder (1999)

Fit to Die (2001)

Bone Dance (2003)

When Boomers Go Bad (2005)

Going Out with a Bang (2008)

Little Treasures (2011, .99c ebook)

News in brief

Hot off the press!

What's the link between a reclusive artist and a dead surfer on Vancouver Island's Pacific Rim?


First five Green books reissued in Fall 2022!

Available now!

Inspector Green is back! His interest in his daughters's domestic abuse case puts her in danger.

Available now!

Amanda Doucette explores the link between buried bones and her missing uncle.

Nominated for Best Novella!

In the fourth Cedric O'Toole short novel, Cedris'c life is turned upside down.

Released in 2018! 

The Third Amanda Doucette mystery is a tale of desperate choices.


Released in Sept. 2017! The second in the Amanda Doucette series is a chilling tale!


Released in Sept. 2016!

And garnering lots of great reviews. Thanks to readers everywhere for your support.

Shortlisted for Best Novella! Breaking news; The Night Thief is nominated for the 2016 Arthur Ellis Award.



Shortlisted for Best Novel! 

Barbara is thrilled ro be nominated for the 2015 Best Novel Award by Crime Writers of Canada.



Shortlisted for the Ottawa Book Awards! Barbara is thrilled and honoured that The Whisper of Legends is among the finalists for the 2011 Ottawa Book Awards.

Great reviews!

The reviews are beginning to come in for None So Blind. Check out Publishers Weekly, Quill & Quire, and The National Post


Superlative Reviews!

The Whisper of Legends has received numerous excellent reviews, such as The Globe and Mail, The Ottawa Citizen, and The National Post


Nominated for 2013 Best Novella!

Evil Behind that Door, the latest Cedric O'Toole Rapid Reads novel, has been shortlisted for Best Novella by Crime Writers of Canada.





Print | Sitemap
© Barbara Fradkin