BARBARA FRADKIN           Mystery Writer

The Inspector Green Mysteries


Breaking news!


The first five books in the series including two award winners, have just been reissued in a larger format with updated covers. The sixth, Dream Chasers, is being reissued in January 2024, and work on This Thing of Darkness is ongoing.




And in other news...


Response to the eleventh in the Inspector Green series, The Devil to Pay, published in October 2022, was so positive that a twelvth is now in the works. Barbara is deep int eh writing process now, and publication by Dundurn Press is sscheduled for Janurary 2025. There's no title yet, but Barbara throws Michael Green a personal challenge he never dreamed of.





"For those who like a solid classic mystery with added character, Inspector Green is perfect."

The Globe and Mail



The award-winning Inspector Green series is set in Canada's Capital, a city of rich cultural and geographical diversity, and features the impetuous, exasperating Ottawa Police Inspector Michael Green, whose passion for justice and love of the hunt often conflict with family, friends and police protocol. 


Do or Die introduced Inspector Green in 2000, a forty-something working-class man with a young family, a busy wife, a fractious daughter from his first marriage, and an elderly widowed father who survived the Holocaust. There are currently ten novels in the series, which has garnered two Best Novel Awards, as well as two additional nominations, from Crime Writers of Canada. The tenth, None So Blind, released in 2014, turned Inspector Green's life upside down and forced him to face his past, as well as chart a new future. In The Devil to Pay, his search for new ways to stay involved lands him and his daughter in trouble. 


All eleven Inspector Green novels are available in trade paperback and e-formats. All but the latest two are also available as audio books.


Ottawa River


Although based in Ottawa, the cases frequently lead Green on investigative jaunts to other Canadian locales like Halifax, Montreal, and Gananoque. In the ninth novel, The Whisper of Legends, Green finds himself in Nahanni National Park in the Northwest Territories, on unfamiliar and terrifying turf. 


Check out the book links below or on the left for more details, reviews, and excerpts from the novels.




DO OR DIE, Dundurn Press, Toronto,2000/ 2022

IBSN:  978-0929141787


ONCE UPON A TIME,Dundurn Press, Toronto, 2002/2022

ISBN: 978-0929141848

Shortlisted, Best Novel


MIST WALKER, Dundurn Press, Toronto, 2003/2022



FIFTH SON,  Dundurn Press, Toronto, 2004/2022

ISBN: 978-1-894917-13-8

Winner, Best Novel


HONOUR AMONG MEN, Dundurn Press, Toronto, 2006/2022

ISBN: 978-1459751064

Winner, Best Novel


DREAM CHASERS, RendezVous/ Dundurn Press, Toronto, 2007

ISBN: 978-1-894917-58-2


THIS THING OF DARKNESS, RendezVous/ Dundurn Press, 2009

ISBN: 978-1-894917-85-8


BEAUTIFUL LIE THE DEAD, RendezVous/ Dundurn Press, 2010

ISBN: 978-1-926607-08-5


THE WHISPER OF LEGENDS, Dundurn Press, 2013

ISBN: 978-1459075678


NONE SO BLIND, Dundurn Press, 2014

ISBN: 978-1459721401

Shortlisted, Best Novel


THE DEVIL TO PAY, Dundurn Press, 2021

ISBN: 978-145-974-3847


News in brief

Hot off the press!

What's the link between a reclusive artist and a dead surfer on Vancouver Island's Pacific Rim?


First five Green books reissued in Fall 2022!

Available now!

Inspector Green is back! His interest in his daughters's domestic abuse case puts her in danger.

Available now!

Amanda Doucette explores the link between buried bones and her missing uncle.

Nominated for Best Novella!

In the fourth Cedric O'Toole short novel, Cedris'c life is turned upside down.

Released in 2018! 

The Third Amanda Doucette mystery is a tale of desperate choices.


Released in Sept. 2017! The second in the Amanda Doucette series is a chilling tale!


Released in Sept. 2016!

And garnering lots of great reviews. Thanks to readers everywhere for your support.

Shortlisted for Best Novella! Breaking news; The Night Thief is nominated for the 2016 Arthur Ellis Award.



Shortlisted for Best Novel! 

Barbara is thrilled ro be nominated for the 2015 Best Novel Award by Crime Writers of Canada.



Shortlisted for the Ottawa Book Awards! Barbara is thrilled and honoured that The Whisper of Legends is among the finalists for the 2011 Ottawa Book Awards.

Great reviews!

The reviews are beginning to come in for None So Blind. Check out Publishers Weekly, Quill & Quire, and The National Post


Superlative Reviews!

The Whisper of Legends has received numerous excellent reviews, such as The Globe and Mail, The Ottawa Citizen, and The National Post


Nominated for 2013 Best Novella!

Evil Behind that Door, the latest Cedric O'Toole Rapid Reads novel, has been shortlisted for Best Novella by Crime Writers of Canada.





Print | Sitemap
© Barbara Fradkin